beeradvocate.com trading

During a new years party I was introduced to the world of online craft beer trading and some unique flavors from all over the US.  The collection that I saw would trump any local liquor store in MN for sure.  Hundreds of bottles down in a basement cellar just waiting to be opened and enjoyed.  Most of the beers that I saw were picked up through a trading process between different people across the US.  This impressive collection included every kind of craft beer you could think of including beers that were no longer made and beers that were over four years old.  I was informed that this trading process is conducted through beeradvocate.com and getting involved would require quite a bit more than traveling to the liquor store for a 6 pack. The first step I was told to stock up on your own local hard to find beers.  For myself, the hard to find beer in high demand would be Surley Darkness (surlybrewing.com) which is released once a year on Darkness Day.  Then once I have picked up my Darkness, I can start looking on beeradvocate.com for people who are willing to make a trade.  I can tell you first hand that these hard to find beers are far better quality than what you would normally find at a liquor store and I’m looking forward to trying this out.  Does anyone have any beers that they would consider the same value as Surley Darkness?  I’ve been looking around for Avery Mephistopheles Stout, but I haven’t been able to track any down as of yet.

This entry was posted in Beer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

